top of page
2023 Scholarship Winner

We are proud to announce that our 2023 Anne E. Parker Memorial RCS scholarship winner of $1000 is Jacob Wright, a Riverbend High School graduate who will attend Washington and Lee this fall. The scholarship is given in memory of Anne E. Parker, a founding member of the Rappahannock Choral Society, to a Spotsylvania County high school graduating senior with plans to pursue an education in the field of music.


Jacob, a multi-talented musician shown playing the up-right bass, is an exemplary student participated in the Riverbend High School Symphonic Orchestra, the Riverbend High School Left Bank Jazz Ensemble, All County Orchestras and All Regional Orchestras. Jacob was also a champion wrestler at Riverbend High School. Jacob started playing the double bass in the sixth grade orchestra and quickly fell in love with the instrument. “The deep, rich tones of the double bass captivated me, and I enjoyed physicality of playing a large instrument.”


Jacob plans on pursuing a major in Neuroscience at Washington and Lee. He still remains committed to music and will minor in music while playing the double bass in the university orchestra and the electric bass in jazz band.“In addition to playing music, I also hope to explore the intersection of neuroscience and music. I believe that music has the potential to improve people’s mental health and well-being.”The RCS wishes you the best in your future endeavors.

  • Sabrina Van - Massaponax HS

  • Adam Pellegreen – Riverbend HS

  • Sarah Cuba – Spotsylvania HS

  • Madeline Ivanovich – Chancellor HS

  • Gabrielle Donadio – Massaponnax HS

  • Joshua Johnson – Courtland HS

  • Madison Libby – Chancellor HS

  • Oliver Kriska – Chancellor HS

bottom of page